top of page
What is a Veterinary Internal Medicine Specialist?

Board-certified specialists in Internal Medicine are often referred to as “Internists”. They have completed 5-6 years of training and received their Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree. For specialisation in Internal medicine, they underwent advanced training in the function, diagnosis, pathology and treatment of internal body systems.

Internists are uniquely qualified to diagnose and treat diseases of the gastrointestinal tract, liver, pancreas, kidneys, heart & lungs, immune-system, further infectious diseases and hormonal disturbances, blood & bone marrow disorder, a wide area of cancerous diseases and neurological problems.


The specialist training involves:

  • 1-year Internship: practical experience in different clinical departments

  •  3-4 year Residency: hands-on case management of IM cases under direct supervision by Diplomates and training in the use of advanced diagnostic modalities like ultrasound, CT, fluoroscopy and endoscopy.


Once they completed this program, they have to pass two rigorous exams before they are called a board-certified specialist/Diplomate, the highest credential available in their field. 


There are many other specialities like cardiology, surgery, anaesthesia....


For more information, please see:

bottom of page